Tees Valley Combined Authority’s Apprenticeship Support Grant supports the creation of apprenticeships across the Tees Valley (Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar & Cleveland, and Stockton-on-Tees).  The grant is designed to help employers who are committed to creating a new apprenticeship, or progressing their existing apprentice onto a higher level of apprenticeship.

The grant supports SMEs who create apprenticeships in sectors facing high demand and growth from employers, as identified in the Tees Valley’s Strategic Economic Plan.

The Priority Sectors being supported by the grant are:

Advanced Manufacturing Process, Chemicals & Energy
Logistics Health & Biologics
Digital & Creative Business & Professional Services
Construction Health Care
Culture & Leisure Education


What funding is available?

For SMEs identified by Tees Valley Combined Authority as being in one of the Priority Sectors, there are two grants available:


Apprentices aged 16-18


Apprentices aged 19+

For SMEs not identified as being in one of the Priority Sectors, there is a grant of £500 available for apprentices aged 19+.

Tees Valley Combined Authority will assess the application and will advise on which grant, if any, you could be eligible for.

Who can access the funding?

The employer and apprentice must meet the following criteria:

  • SME (249 or less employees across all sites) – Priority Sectors only
  • SME (49 or less employees across all sites) – Non-Priority Sectors
  • Workplace must be in the Tees Valley
  • Business must have been trading for a minimum of 12 months prior to the apprentice starting
  • Apprentice must be paid ANMW
  • Must commit to completing a min of 12 months or the time it takes to complete the apprenticeship

Applications must be made within 4 weeks of the training start date. If your application supports progression, then the application must be made within 4 weeks of the new training start date. Any applications received after this timeframe will not be considered.

The Apprenticeship training must be provided by a training provider approved by the Education & Skills Funding Agency (ESFA).

How to apply

Applications should be made directly to Tees Valley Combined Authority.